Formula 1 has a long history of sporting greatness. The most prestigious motorsport competition on the planet, it’s no surprise that so many different car makers and ambitious team principals have tried to find success by entering teams into Formula 1.

This year sees ten teams once again do battle for pole position and that iconic black and white checkered flag. But who are the teams competing this season? Here’s our quick guide to this year’s entrants.

Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team

Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team Drivers: Lewis Hamilton (GB), George Russell (GB) Engine: Mercedes-AMG

Having won eight straight constructors’ titles, Mercedes are one of the most dominant teams in F1. But their racing history goes back to the 1930s, where the iconic silver arrows dominated the early days of grand prix racing. When Formula 1 began in the 1950s, Mercedes found early success with Juan Manuel Fangio in ’54 and ‘55. But it would be a long wait for their next victory, until Lewis Hamilton led them to the title in 2014.

Oracle Red Bull Racing

Drivers: Max Verstappen (Ned), Sergio Perez (Mex) Engine: Red Bull

Snatching victory in the 2021 driver’s championship in controversial circumstances, it will be interesting to see if Red Bull can once again compete at the top of the standings this season. One of the most successful recent entrants into the competition, Red Bull Racing began their F1 journey in 2005. Five years later, they had their first champion with Sebastian Vettel, who would go on to win four titles in a row.

Scuderia Ferrari

Drivers: Charles Leclerc (Mon), Carlos Sainz Jr (Esp) Engine: Ferrari

Probably the most iconic Formula 1 team in history, Ferrari have been involved in every single season since 1950. 16 Constructor’s Championships and 15 Driver’s Championships show just how big a part they’ve played in the sport. Legendary drivers such as Juan Manuel Fangio, John Surtees, Niki Lauda, Kimi Raikkonen and, of course, Michael Schumacher, have all found success in Ferrari’s iconic red livery.

McLaren F1 Team

Drivers: Daniel Ricciardo (Aus), Lando Norris (GB) Engine: Mercedes-AMG

Another iconic Formula 1 team, McLaren haven’t found success since Lewis Hamilton departed the team in 2008. But their history is filled with champions. James Hunt, Niki Lauda, Alain Prost, Lewis Hamilton and, perhaps the most iconic of all racers, Ayrton Senna, they have all driven McLaren cars to victory. First entering the competition in 1966, their drivers have helped the team to 12 championships and 8 constructor’s titles.


Williams Racing

Drivers: Nicholas Latifi (Can), Alexander Albon (Tha) Engine: Mercedes-AMG

One of the most successful British Formula 1 Teams, Williams have lost their way in recent years since their 90s heyday. While not being a part of the sport as long as other champions, having first entered in 1977, the team was led by former race driver Frank Williams to sporting success. 7 championships by 7 different drivers is truly astonishing, with legends like Nigel Mansell, Alain Prost, Jacques Villeneueve and Damon Hill helping the team dominate the sport in the 90s with 4 out of 10 driver’s championships.

Alfa Romeo

Drivers: Zhou Guanyu (Chi), Valterri Bottas (Fin) Engine: Ferrari

Alfa Romeo have a long history with Formula 1, but normally as the supplier of engines rather than as a racing team. They started their Formula 1 career with a bang, winning titles in 1950 and 1951, with Giuseppe Farina and Juan Manuel Fangio (him again!) claiming victory. They haven’t had much success since then, and took an almost thirty year break before taking over the Sauber team in 2019.

Scuderia AlphaTauri

Drivers: Pierra Gasly (Fra), Yuki Tsunoda (Jap) Engine: Red Bull

Formally known as Toro Rosso, Scuderia AlphaTauri are the second company owned by the energy drink company Red Bull. Often seen as a feeder team to Red Bull Racing, many of the drivers to come through their ranks have found success with the main team, including Max Verstappen.

BWT Alpine F1 Team

Drivers: Fernando Alonso (Esp), Esteban Ocon (Fra) Engine: Renault

First joining Formula 1 in 2021, this is the second season for Alpine in the competition. However, they have been in the competiton under different guises before. Toleman, Benetton, Lotus and Renault have all been previous iterations before Alpine took over. In fact, they are owned by Renault, who decided to revert to the historical motorsport brand name Alpine for 2021. They have 1 race victory under this new name, coming for Ocon at the Hungarian Grand Prix in 2021.


Haas F1 Team

Drivers: Kevin Magnussen (Nor), Mick Schumacher (Ger) Engine: Ferrari

Joining Formula 1 in 2016, Haas is co-owned by Gene Haas, someone who made their name on the motorsport scene with NASCAR. One of the few American Formula 1 teams, they have had a partnership with Ferrari to provide them with the engines for their cars since their first entry into the competition.

Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant

Drivers: Sebastian Vettel (Ger), Lance Stroll (Can) Engine: Mercedes-AMG

More often spotted on the streets of Mayfair, Aston Martin have dabbled in Formula 1 several times across the years, before firmly establishing themselves as a team for the 2021 season. With former champion Vettel in the team, hopes are high that they can have a respectable showing in this year’s competition.

Are You Ready to Save on Car Finance?

If you’re considering getting a new car, then you don't want to miss out on what Creditplus can offer. Applying with us will not affect your credit profile, so why not complete a quick application now.

Apply Online Today!
See our latest car deals

Privacy policy
By continuing to use our website you agree to our privacy policy.
To give you the best possible experience, this site uses cookies. If you continue to browse our website we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies.